My Pinterest Wedding: 5 Tips for Moving Beyond the Board

My Pinterest Wedding

How many of you have a Pinterest board full of great ideas, but haven’t followed through on a single one of them? Maybe you’ve found time to do one or two? You’re not alone! In fact, there are pins all over Pinterest highlighting this very conundrum!

Pinterest dominates idea sharing on the web, but it’s far easier to pin something than it is to accomplish it.

Most of the time, I’m no different. When it came to planning my DIY wedding, however, I was determined to make my pinning reveries a reality! Was it easy? Absolutely not. Would I do it again? In a heartbeat.

Planning and executing my perfect Pinterest wedding was no small task and I certainly learned a few things along the way. As a result, I’ve developed five important steps to moving beyond the pinning board. Hopefully these steps can help make your Pinterest dreams come true too!

(While I used this process to plan my wedding, it can be applied to most boards. As an example, I plan on using these same steps to create my ideal beach Christmas décor!)

Step 1: Pin, Pin, Pin!

The first step is easy. All you need to do is what you’ve already been doing. Pin to your heart’s content!

Make your board and fill it with all of the things you love. When you think you’re done, go back through and pin some more!

Seriously, you can never have too many ideas.

Step 2: Make a List

Growing up, my mom had lists everywhere. I never understood the point…until one day I did! Now I make lists for everything. For me, it’s less about checking things off and more about getting my thoughts in order.

Even if you hate lists, you’re going to need one for this.

Force yourself to sit down with your beloved Pinterest board and go through each and every pin. Write down your favorites and get rid of any duplicate ideas. Once you have whittled down your list, it’s time to organize it.

I set up a “Projects” Microsoft Excel worksheet. See a bit of it below.

Wedding Project List

This worked well because I was then able to organize tasks, record due-dates, assign responsibilities, make progress notes, and color code my categories. It also allowed me to better conceptualize the number of projects I wanted to complete and assess if I could get it all done.

Step Three: Commit

Once you have everything laid out, you’re suddenly going to realize how much there really is. It may be overwhelming; it certainly was for me! The question is, is it too overwhelming? This is where you’ll decide.

You’ve put time and effort in already (it took me an entire evening to sort through my wedding board), but it’s going to take so much more time to actually complete everything.

Assess if this is something you really want to do. Know that DIY is not always the cheaper option, especially when you consider how much time and effort it takes. It’s okay to go the easier route if you know you’re going to be swamped with work or other responsibilities.

On the other hand, if your heart swells with joy at the thought of moving forward, go for it!

Step Four: Ask for HELP

There are two reasons for this. First, you’ve got a lot to get done. Second, everything is better with company!

My two maids of honor (yes, I had two!) helped me so much with my projects. It was great fun and went so much quicker.

Friendly tip to DIY brides: Everything takes longer, so make sure you have as much assistance as possible when you’re setting up your venue. I had family and party members helping me and it still took us all day to get it right.

Step Five: Adapt

Keep in mind that our eyes tend to be bigger than our tummies…or in my case, bigger than time and space!

You probably won’t be able to get everything done during your timeframe (if you have a timeframe). That’s fine. Accept it, and move on. There were several things that I dropped off my list, but I got more done because I didn’t dwell on what I wasn’t going to have time for.

Also feel free to add new projects or switch ideas out!

Wrap Up

Moving beyond the Pinterest board can be tough, but hopefully these steps can help get you started. Remember, Pinterest is fun! Explore it deeply and pin everything you like. Make your list, selecting your top projects and weeding out duplicates. Then, get lots of help – because it’s fun and fast! Know from the beginning that you probably won’t get it all done, but that it’s okay. Just make sure you enjoy the process and take time to reap the rewards of all your hard work!

Share You Knowledge!

How do you move beyond the board? What strategies do you use for ensuring you’re completing projects as well as pinning them?

Thanks for reading and good luck!

Leave a Reply

